broke throttle cable

Any conversation that doesn't fit the forums above

Moderators: Volker_P, tidd650

my79650
Posts: 643
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:37 am
Location: Gagetown, New Brunswick Canada

broke throttle cable

Postby my79650 » Fri Sep 24, 2010 3:54 pm

On my way home in the rain from work; my throttle cable broke in the sleeve; stopped and checked at the handlebar; pull cable was frayed up a little; beginning of the end i guess. My question is: has anyone here used the cables off a 78 or 79 cb400 twin on their 650's? I have both push and pull cables oiled up as i had stripped down that bike. It was just a parts bike i got for $20 a few years back from and old farmer. I have the cable that came with my bike while it had the old 750 carbs on it; never bothered measuring it as it is still good; was planning on saving it in case i had to clean up those carbs and use them. I had to crank up the idle adjuster to get home, worked fine just a pain starting from a dead stop. Any thought or suggestions are appreciated before i go and order up new ones; thanks.

my79650
Posts: 643
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:37 am
Location: Gagetown, New Brunswick Canada

Re: broke throttle cable

Postby my79650 » Sat Sep 25, 2010 9:05 am

well the cables off the 400 twin are an inch too short; can't use them; so i have to go order new ones.

my79650
Posts: 643
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:37 am
Location: Gagetown, New Brunswick Canada

Re: broke throttle cable

Postby my79650 » Sun Sep 26, 2010 4:45 am

Happy birthday to me....cable issues; up here in my part of the world the push cable is easily attainable at $15....both the local Honda shop and my local bike shop tells me that the main pull cable is discontinued....as each outfit won't bother trying online US stores due to shipping/importing issues...so i will check the local classified to see if i can find another parts bike with good cables...wish me luck.

User avatar
Volker_P
Posts: 5311
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 1:53 am
Location: southern Germany

Re: broke throttle cable

Postby Volker_P » Sun Sep 26, 2010 5:41 am

I make the inner wires myself by soldering steel wire into cut guitar string tension adjusters (or whatever these parts are called correctly). :wink:
Helpful to splice the cable off at the end and make the string bore to a two step passage to allow the thicker, spliced end to go in.
Cosky's great (free) online manual: http://cosky0.tripod.com

forum links to common technical issues

my79650
Posts: 643
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:37 am
Location: Gagetown, New Brunswick Canada

Re: broke throttle cable

Postby my79650 » Sun Sep 26, 2010 7:55 am

do you use normal silver solder or bronze brazing rod? i am not sure what to try if i go that route. I still have the spare cable for the 750 carbs i swapped out; just have to find it first.

User avatar
Volker_P
Posts: 5311
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 1:53 am
Location: southern Germany

Re: broke throttle cable

Postby Volker_P » Sun Sep 26, 2010 8:07 am

I use usual tin based (silver) solder. Special issue is a fluxing agent for stainless steel as I managed to get stainless steel cable. I guess for normal cables common soldering flux should work well enough.
Cosky's great (free) online manual: http://cosky0.tripod.com

forum links to common technical issues

my79650
Posts: 643
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:37 am
Location: Gagetown, New Brunswick Canada

Re: broke throttle cable

Postby my79650 » Sun Sep 26, 2010 10:08 am

My next question is: has anyone on here used any cables off of any newer Honda bikes as replacements; or any newer bike in general if they had issues finding OE cables or aftermarket ones? found my 750 carb cable and it was still bout 2 inches too short to hook up after feeding it from handlebars back...was worth a shot.

my79650
Posts: 643
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:37 am
Location: Gagetown, New Brunswick Canada

Re: broke throttle cable

Postby my79650 » Mon Sep 27, 2010 3:16 am

I read Soos writeup about the kawasaki ninja carbs: was wondering if anyone else who did a similar swap used the stock 650 throttle cables? Or has anyone who did that used the Kawasaki throttle cables on their 650 as replacements? Just looking at options here. There is a bike bone yard 2hrs away from home that has a lot of older honda bikes on hand....basically i was wondering if anyone knew if the kawi cables would be the same length as the 650 cables?

User avatar
Volker_P
Posts: 5311
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 1:53 am
Location: southern Germany

Re: broke throttle cable

Postby Volker_P » Mon Sep 27, 2010 5:54 am

If you plan to go to that yard, I'd say just take the old cable with you and see what will fit. Possibly there is a big box with not labelled cables to go through.
BTW, I'd do that if I go to Honda, too.
Cosky's great (free) online manual: http://cosky0.tripod.com

forum links to common technical issues

my79650
Posts: 643
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:37 am
Location: Gagetown, New Brunswick Canada

Re: broke throttle cable

Postby my79650 » Mon Sep 27, 2010 5:46 pm

Already got that plan in motion; sending my father there for me tomorrow since i'm on day shift; got a quote of $30 for 2 "pull" cables, One to install and the other for a spare; cash outfit; so may even get them cheaper; will post tomorrow night with results; only sending the broken pull cable down for measuring; push cable isn't really needed as the spring tension in the carbs snaps them down good.

my79650
Posts: 643
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:37 am
Location: Gagetown, New Brunswick Canada

Re: broke throttle cable

Postby my79650 » Tue Sep 28, 2010 5:51 pm

I lucked out; he only had one pull cable that matched up to my old one; its on but i have to finish up tomorrow after work; hate fall as i only get an hour of daylight after i get home; should be back on the road Wednesday evening after adjustments are made. PS: i oiled it up pretty good before i run it through.

tmorgan0630
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 3:52 pm
Location: Oregon

Re: broke throttle cable

Postby tmorgan0630 » Tue Sep 28, 2010 10:48 pm

Motion Pro still makes both the pull and push cables.

my79650
Posts: 643
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:37 am
Location: Gagetown, New Brunswick Canada

Re: broke throttle cable

Postby my79650 » Wed Sep 29, 2010 3:21 am

Thanks; the thing bout that is the 2 week waiting period up here in Canada to get stuff across the border if you order it on line; that's why i opted out for a good used one....it was in great shape; no twists or kinks in the casing either; so i oiled it and installed it; just have to make final adjustments.

my79650
Posts: 643
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:37 am
Location: Gagetown, New Brunswick Canada

Re: broke throttle cable

Postby my79650 » Thu Sep 30, 2010 4:22 am

For our Canadian members of the forum who have trouble getting cables; got emailed this site; can't copy and paste yet but type "Sirius Consolidated Inc." in your web browser; based in Ontario; Canada; they have a huge assortment for atv's; dirt bikes and our cb650's as well. Hope this helps anyone out who keeps getting told by Honda their discontinued.

my79650
Posts: 643
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:37 am
Location: Gagetown, New Brunswick Canada

Re: broke throttle cable

Postby my79650 » Sat Oct 02, 2010 11:58 am

Got both cables; used pull and new push installed after a few swearing sessions; oiled them up and hung in shed overnight plus i dabbed some axle grease on each open end just to make sure everything is lubed up properly; install gas tank and reset my idle then i'm on the go again. Still have another month of riding up here before it gets too cold.


Return to “Everything else”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests